Women and Adversity:

Dena and Rebecca Lindgren

Fictional sisters in Outside the Limelight, Book 2 in the Ballet Theatre Chronicles series

 By Terez Mertes Rose

Somehow this book got into my Kindle, and I couldn’t ignore it.

Tutu, plié and barre are about the only ballet terms I knew until I read Outside the Limelight, but this novel’s message includes more than a ballet instructional. It’s the story of two sisters, both ballerinas, and their jealousies, hopes, dreams, romantic entanglements, heartbreaking misfortunes and relationship to each other and others in their lives.

The characters are complicated and live complicated lives. Rebecca and Dena Lindgren are competitors in the West Coast Ballet Theatre in San Francisco. Anders Gunst, the company’s artistic director, promotes Dena to soloist, much to the surprise of everyone associated with the ballet company.

Dena is overjoyed but confused because Rebecca is older, beautiful and more experienced. Besides, everyone believed Rebecca would be chosen for the promotion, including Rebecca.

Four years later misfortune strikes and Dena falters and falls during a performance. The intense competition in the ballet world starts the gossip and finally Dena is diagnosed with a brain tumor. She has no balance. Her career is more than compromised. It is probably ended, but she doesn’t want to give up. Anders’ interest in Rebecca is revealed, and more conflicts, guilt and compassion ensue.

Author Terez Mertes Rose includes medical information in layman’s terms so the reader can understand what is happening to Dena. As a former ballet dancer, she has the insight to provide a glimpse into the world of the ballerina, the highs and lows, the wear and tear on the body, the determination to give the best performance despite the excruciating pain shooting through the toes, the feet and up the legs to the hips.

Rose writes an intriguing novel that captivates the imagination and engrosses the reader’s interest. I give it five stars and plan to read Off Balance, Book 1 in Rose’s Ballet Theatre Chronicles series.

More information:






Next Time: Sue Grafton, writer of the Kinsey Millhone alphabet series novels.

Article By: Jo Ann Mathews

I published three ebooks in 2020: Women and Adversity, Honoring 23 Black Women; Women and Adversity, Recognizing 23 Notable Mothers; and Women and Adversity, Saluting 23 Faithful Suffragists to commemorate the hundredth anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment giving women the right to vote. These books are meant to be study guides for all students from grade school through college to help in choosing topics for assignments and to learn more about these noteworthy women. Go to amazon.com, barnesandnoble.com and goodreads.com to learn more.

    Write a Reply or Comment About This Article

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Time limit exceeded. Please complete the captcha once again.


    Subscribe to Blog via Email

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 219 other subscribers

    Discover more from Jo Ann Mathews

    Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

    Continue reading